Dessine-moi un Mouton

untitled5

Today is the 70th Anniversary of “Le Petit Prince”, my favourite book ever.

No, not that one...

No, not that one…

Why do I love this book? Simple, it reminds me that we must keep our imagination alive, that becoming an adult doesn´t mean that our dreams die with this new stage of life, and that we need to enjoy the simple things that life has to offer.

This book was written by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944) in 1943. The author, Antoine, was a French aristocrat, poet and aviator. It was voted the best French book of the 20th century.

Le Petit Prince is also, well, can be sense as a tale of loneliness, love, friendship, adventure and kindness. It revolves on the stories and sayings of a young prince fallen to earth. The Little Prince criticizes Saint-Exupéry for his lack of disposition to enjoy life, his lack of effort to imagine beyond what he knows and believe what he hasn´t seen with his own eyes.

The book has amazing quotes, these are some of my favourites:

“One sees clearly only with the heart. What is essential is invisible to the eye.”

“You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.”

“It is the time you have lost for your rose that makes your rose so important.”

Everywhere I´ve traveled I´ve taken my copy of Le Petit Prince, sometimes in Spanish, sometimes in French, sometimes in English. It joins me in my adventures, so I never forget that I´m here to live life, to risk, to imagine, and live by the premise:  “No one is ever satisfied where he is”.

dzn_Le-Petit-Prince-Nursery-School-by-Carlos-Barba-211

The Little Prince is part of our cultural heritage, you must read it and read it again. It is never the same, it changes with you, it grows up, and makes you put things into perspective. We are here to question our lack of creativeness and selfishness. Le Petit Prince will live in our hearts forever, because deep inside we all want someone to draw us a wee sheep.

Ps1. You can read the original version of this masterpiece in the following link: Le Petit Prince 

2 thoughts on “Dessine-moi un Mouton

  1. I love this book too!

    And after a good few years on this blue planet (and a few less in the English Garden and it’s surroundings) I can identify with the quote “Well, I must endure the presence of two or three caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies.”

    I also happen to believe in the assertion that “If somebody wants a sheep, that is a proof that he exists.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

