Moctezuma’s Revenge

After living the good life in New Zealand I decided to go back to Mexico, my country. As you know, Mexico is an old country, full of culture, traditions, history and amazing food. I arrived first to Guadalajara, beautiful city, which I’ll talk about more in my next post. After Guadalajara I continued to Monterrey, where my sisters and friends live. The first thing I noticed when I got to this northern city was the heat, it wasn’t just a wee difference, I went from 10 C in Auckland, to 25 C in Guadalajara to a ‘not heavenly at all’ 45 C here in Monterrey.

Finally I reunited with my family, met my newborn nephew (gorgeous) and ate amazing Mexican food. During my first day at Monterrey I had fresh seafood platter, ceviche, tacos, beer, tequila, home made salsa, grill meat, etc, etc. Everything was going excellent until something happened. I might have eaten something bad because around 5pm I started feeling sick (Fever, stomach ache, the shivers, and diarrhea).

I’m still sick and I stayed up all night, went to the toilet every hour, and woke up feeling like crap. It was painful and there’s nothing you can do about it. In Mexico we call that Moctezuma’s revenge ( jocular term for travelers’ diarrhea). This term applies to tourists visiting Mexico. This made me jump to one conclusion, New Zealand diet has weaken my Mexican digestive system.

Food goes bad faster in warmer weathers, keep this in mind when you come to Mexico. Regarding of the recipes and things I’ve seen so far, I’ll be writing about them soon. In the meantime, I’m just eating soup, drinking lots of liquids and staying close to the toilet.

Ps. I blame my mum’s homemade salsa.

3 thoughts on “Moctezuma’s Revenge

  1. Pingback: Guadalajara and Tortas Ahogadas | Tacos and Politics

  2. Hahaha, talvez un poco innecesario saber de tu transito estomacal… pero entiendo tu punto… aunque estoy seguro de que para mi sera al reves… hahaha

  3. Pingback: The Heart of Mexico | Tacos and Politics

Leave a Reply

